Posted in What I Learned

What I Learned: May 2016

One year ago now, I was working in the office at Camp, in limbo between graduation and Camp starting for the summer. Earlier in May, I went to visit my Clemson friends and Clemson babies in Pennsylvania, turned 22, moved out of the apartment I’d lived in for 3 years of college, bought a car to call my very own, and I had my first jury duty, which felt kind of grown-up, but at the same time, like a drag.

It was a rare time because I wasn’t in college anymore but my next thing hadn’t started yet but also I was super busy – working, driving, packing, cleaning, etc. I was reflecting on what had just finished as well as thinking apprehensively of what was stirring under my feet – the changes to the things that I knew and the new things that were coming.

What I Learned: May 2016

  1. After you turn 21, no one really cares how old you are.
  2. Your family is your neighbor, too, not just the people “out there.” Serve the people “in here” as well as others outside.
  3. Buying a car is less climactic than it sounds – yes, you’re getting this new shiny thing, but also you’re spending like all your money on it and now you are under lots of pressure to never mess it up. Going out for pizza to celebrate just means you spend more money, which, after buying a car, you never want to do again.
  4. Maturity is not a lack of impulses to sin or to give in to desires, but a change in response to the same impulses and a better foundation with which to deny them. And also a humility that knows you won’t be perfect at it ever while a human.
  5. Your job really starts not on your first day, but when you interview for it.
  6. The less recent an event, the less relevant it can be. Sometimes, time is like forgiveness.

*Bonus!

7. Once you go Subaru, you never go back.

8. Take a book to jury duty, because sometimes you spend 2.5 business days just sitting in a room waiting to see if you’re going to get picked (and then you don’t).

Love,

Lauralicious

Author:

Life is worth living because Jesus chose to save me. I like being awake. Once I was Kim Kardashian for Halloween. I hope to incorporate writing into my adult life one day.

Leave a Reply

