Posted in Camp, What I Learned

What I Learned: July 2016

Most of July of last year was spent at Camp. I was (and still am) learning how to lead, which was hard. Then, the day after Camp ended, I moved to a new town and all new things – job, apartment, roommate, church, etc. July was a very overwhelming and very exciting month.

This is what I learned through all of it –

  1. Sometime patience and persistence are the same thing.
  2. You don’t have to be good at everything, but you do have to give things a chance. Try new things. Do hard things.
  3. If you see or are a part of something that’s wrong and don’t speak up, then what you are communicating is: “everything happening here is completely okay with me and approved by me.”
  4. Sometimes you see another person’s sin and you are appalled at that person’s capacity to hurt people or ruin things or be a sinner. You need to know that you also have that same capacity and are no better. All humans are inherently awful.
  5. Don’t weave your whining and complaining into conversations. If you’ve got to say it, just say it, and then be done with it.

Bonus!

6. Excuses don’t last long. You can only say, “I moved here yesterday” for one day.

Love,

Lauralicious

Author:

Life is worth living because Jesus chose to save me. I like being awake. Once I was Kim Kardashian for Halloween. I hope to incorporate writing into my adult life one day.

One thought on “What I Learned: July 2016

Leave a Reply

